This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

9.4 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.8
Comfort
9.5
Property location
9.4
Facilities
9.3
Staff
9.7
Value
8.6
Reviews
    Melissa
    de
    9.6
    17 November 2017
    relaxing
    Staff is so nice! More of a traditional home stay than a hotel. Great wifi and super comfortable futon beds.
    askhari
    es
    10
    23 October 2017
    Just perfect!
    Everything! The traditional rooms were beautiful. The staff helped us lot and looked after every single detail.
    William
    au
    10
    24 July 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Michaela
    au
    10
    9 June 2017
    A lovely ryokan in Kyoto
    Hosts greated us in the street and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was a lovely experience and the host explained the local food very well. A great place to stay in a kyoto ryokan!
    zongjie
    cn
    9.6
    27 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Chris
    ie
    9.6
    29 April 2017
    Great traditional Kyoto experience
    We booked very late so it was very expensive (it was worth it). A solid 10min walk from main Gion shops at night (loads of busses & offset by proximity to temples).
    Okami-san was the untimate host. We really felt part of the house and they took time to help us make the most of our short stay. Everything from food, maps, suggested itineraries. The room experience was fabulous. We will visit again for sure.
    Anthony
    au
    10
    26 April 2017
    Beautiful hosts
    Our hosts at Kamuroan were sensational. My bride and I just loved their warmth, helpfulness and laughter. Kamuroan is ideal for couples, and the traditional tatami rooms are a good size. I can recommend the Japanese breakfast available at a modest cost. The location is very close to Kiyomizu temple, which is great at night, a 10 minute walk to Gion and 15 mins to lots of great restaurants at Pontocho. If you are done strolling, the very athletic Jinrikisha, will get you there in no time! Efficient Kyoto buses are just around the corner, and a day pass, can easily take you to further locations. I hope we can return soon.
    John
    us
    9.6
    21 April 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Harry Wong WW
    hk
    9.6
    19 April 2017
    No lock for room, expected for traditional house.
    The host are extremely nice and she is always so helpful. Nice room.
    Jill
    gb
    10
    15 April 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Henk
    nl
    9.2
    6 April 2017
    Perfect Japanse breakfast, Very friendly Owner. Perfect for evening walk through old Kyoto Gion
    Jeffrey
    us
    10
    4 April 2017
    Great hosts and facility, as well as food
    Myles
    us
    10
    16 March 2017
    Fantastic traditional stay with a bed and breakfast feel
    vic
    tw
    9.6
    3 February 2017
    Great location for visiting Kiyomizu Temple, house itself is very well maintained and clean.
    it has large breakfast portion, very clean and well maintained! Owners are super friendly and helpful
    LAUREN
    us
    10
    28 December 2016
    Our favorite hotel during our two weeks in Japan!
    We liked everything ! We were very happy and satisfied at Kamuroan. This might not be the best choice if you have young children, as the room contains delicate objects that children might be tempted to handle and cause damage.
    Three adult family members spent three nights at Kamuroan. We all appreciated the great location, lovely, traditional tatami room, the kind and caring innkeepers who not only made special Christmas dinner reservations before we arrived, but were always available to give directions, help us understand the culture and recommend activities. Kamuroan has just three guest rooms, and you will feel like you are someone's home. Our room on the ground floor was large, divided into the sleeping space and the sitting room, with an alcove dressing-room with a sink -- three people stayed very comfortably. I was wary of a hall-bathroom arrangement, however everything was beautiful, clean and felt very private. Kaumuroan is in Gion, the neighborhood known for picturesque traditional architecture and lots of activity: an easy walk to restaurants, shopping, and bus lines. While it is in a lively area, the inn is on a quiet side street and the room was perfectly peaceful. I can not say enough about how cheerful and friendly Okami-san the innkeeper is. We were in Kyoto for Christmas and she helped us make it festive. She found us the most exquisite, special restaurant for Christmas Eve dinner, explained things to us about the city and region, and helped us with finding good things to do and see. We liked Kamuroan best of all the places we stayed in Japan: the yukata (cotton robes) were the nicest, the jackets so cozy, the room spacious with beautiful decorative detail. Free wifi with a good, strong signal.
    Premanand
    my
    9.0
    21 November 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Julia
    au
    10
    2 November 2016
    Great location in a beautiful quaint part of Kyoto
    Stairs a bit steep for older people. Shower downstairs.
    Great hosts. Very personal service.
    marion
    au
    9.2
    8 October 2016
    We found the hostess a little overly attentive. It felt as though we were being constantly watched and monitored.
    It was total authentic, very clean and in a good location. The staff were generous in giving us a light breakfast even though we had failed to order it. They also moved us to another larger room when it became vacant.
    Qianqian
    cn
    9.6
    23 September 2016
    Nice servies&very clean.
    Yumeng
    cn
    9.6
    17 September 2016
    Warm house and friendly host
    Room, quilt and host The hostess chat with us as friends and offered noodle as breakfast after she called taxi to train station for us. Really really nice, you should never miss this if you would like to experience Kyoto local culture.
Loading reviews
Close