Reviews

9.4
Review Score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.7
Comfort
9.5
Property Location
9.4
Facilities
9.4
Staff
9.7
Value
8.6

Reviews

    Rodolphe Rance
    fr

    Review Score

    9.2
    February 3, 2018

    Authentic ryokan

    Small and very friendly authentic ryokan. This is not a luxury place, but a real and amazing ryokan.
    Sofya
    us

    Review Score

    10
    November 23, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Brian
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    April 11, 2017

    Amazing !!!

    Nothing
    The host makes this place special but even without the host the property and location was great.
    us

    Review Score

    10
    January 30, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Chris
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    January 2, 2017

    Welcoming Ryokan with an excellent host!

    The rooms were a good size, especially while traveling from far away. In our opinion the location was on the better side of town that allowed us to get to the most attractions and restaurants quickly. There are several main bus lines that get you within a short 5 minute walk to the ryokan.
    Xinrong
    cn

    Review Score

    10
    December 9, 2016
    Really nice clean place with warm and sweet house maid. We enjoyed the home feeling stay a lot. Walking distance to Kiyomizu temple. Will definitely come back next time. Don't miss it if you want to experience authentic Japanese home staying experience.
    Philippe
    fr

    Review Score

    9.6
    October 25, 2016

    A great location for a nice ryokan.

    Nothing negative to say! Our two nights there were perfect.
    Our host was extremely friendly and helpful in organizing our visits: We only had one day in Kyoto and she helped us make the most of it. Kamuroan is extremely well located, in the vicinity of several temples and the Gion neighbourhood and a stone-throw away of other sites, such as the Nijo castle and the imperial palace, by subway.
    Frederick
    us

    Review Score

    9.2
    May 25, 2016
    There is very little privacy, with paper-thin walls, and living in the same house cheek-by-jowl with the owners in their own private home can be difficult at times. Also, the owners required that guests be off premises between 11 a.m. at 5 p.m. every day. This was difficult. It would have been nice to have been able to have rested up before dinner, rather than having to leave almost immediately after a tiring day of sight-seeing.
    The owner hostess was wonderful, the breakfast was wonderful, the room was very comfortable and quite large, and the location is perfect!
    us

    Review Score

    9.2
    May 15, 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.